John Goodenough smiling while holding a lithium-ion battery

John B. Goodenough

National Medal of Science

For groundbreaking cathode research that led to the first commercial lithium-ion battery, which has since revolutionized consumer electronics with technical applications for portable and stationary power.

Learn more about John Goodenough

Adam Heller

Adam Heller

National Medal of Technology and Innovation

For fundamental contributions to electrochemistry and bioelectrochemistry and the subsequent application of those fundamentals in the development of technological products that improved the quality of life of millions across the globe, most notably in the area of human health and well-being.

Learn more about Adam Heller

Bob Metcalfe

Robert M. Metcalfe

National Medal of Technology and Innovation

For leadership in the invention, standardization and commercialization of the Ethernet.

Learn more about Robert Metcalfe

Grant Willson

C. Grant Willson

National Medal of Technology and Innovation

For creation of novel lithographic imaging materials and techniques that have enabled the manufacturing of smaller, faster and more efficient microelectronic components that better the quality of the lives of people worldwide and improve the competitiveness of the U.S. microelectronics industry.

Learn more about C. Grant Willson