The Cockrell School is committed to building an environment free from all forms of hate, racism and injustice, where students, faculty and staff feel safe and supported. Every member of our school community — whoever you are, wherever you are from and whatever you believe — is valued. Never forget that you belong here.

group of three outlined icon

The BPE Plan is a defined framework and set of initiatives that will guide our future decisions and investments across all departments and communities.    Learn more

Meet More Members of Our Community

Faces of Texas Engineering

Meet Katharine Fisher, This Year's Outstanding Scholar-Leader

Katharine Fisher is this year's Outstanding Scholar-Leader for the Cockrell School of Engineering — an award that recognizes one graduating student annually for hard work and leadership inside and outside the classroom. However, things may have been very different had she not decided to check out an engineering outreach program on a whim in high school. The California-born, Texas-raised Fisher was always interested in building things and solving hard problems as a kid, a staple of the engineer's brain. But her early schooling did little to encourage this mindset, and slowly her interest in engineering and science drifted away.

Interview with Alumna Carmen Wright

Carmen Wright is the first Black woman to graduate with a Ph.D. in chemical engineering from UT Austin. We sat down with Wright to learn more about her other "firsts" and how she encourages others to not let being the first deter you from reaching your goals, to let your idea of success evolve and change as life evolves, and to enjoy the journey rather than solely focusing on the end goal.

Undergraduate Student Catherine Dominic Wins Prestigious 2021 Brooke Owens Fellowship

Catherine Dominic, a sophomore aerospace engineering major from Sugarland, Texas, was selected to receive a Brooke Owens Fellowship for 2021. Dominic joins two former students in the Department of Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics to receive the award — Josefina Salazar in 2018 and Mykaela Dunn in 2019.

View More News and Updates